Ubuntu Fan

life with ubuntu on a thinkpad T40

System76 Computers?

Posted by ubuntufan on March 30, 2007

Okay, I may be a bit late to the party but humor me. I recently ran across http://www.system76.com . For those like me that didn’t know about them, they sell laptops, desktops, and servers preloaded with Ubuntu. Looking at the specs and the pricing, they seem to be feature rich and reasonably priced.  A quick peak at the bottom of the page(s) notes that they are an official Ubuntu Linux OEM. I have never seen any of these systems in person, but as you all know, I’m very “into” running Ubuntu on laptops. I guess my question is this…..does anyone out there have any experience with these guys/gals? Please post a comment if you have..I’m curious.
On a side note, if anyone from System76 reads this and wants to send me a laptop for long term (read permanent) testing let me know…servers and desktops are also welcomed 🙂

Dale

2 Responses to “System76 Computers?”

  1. blog said

    greatings

    i agree

  2. eric said

    hello there.
    i’m pretty new to the Ubuntu world, and i thought you ought to know that before i go on..

    i don’t personally have any experience with them, however my mother (who is a middle-school principal, and also a geek thanks to me) knows one of the guys from system76. she was trying to get the guy to give me a reduced-price laptop. (negotiations were taking WAY too long so i opted to buy my own) but anyway, she tells me that he’s VERY reliable and so is their company. i guess he gives her tech advice and stuff when she’s trying to implement new technology at her school. so, long and short, like i said, no personal experience, but based on my mother’s experience, i’d say go for it.

Leave a Reply

 
