Ubuntu Fan

life with ubuntu on a thinkpad T40

My New T40!

Posted by ubuntufan on April 2, 2007

I just received my new Thinkpad T40. I know, it’s a few yrs old and there are better laptops for running Linux, but I really like it. I purchased it from one of those off-lease liquidation shops on ebay. I must say, I’m pleasently surprised at the condition. It looks almost new…seriously. For $400 I get 1.5gHz Centrino, 512megs of RAM, CD-RW/DVD combo, 40gig HD, 802.11g integrated wifi…the works. What a great deal. I have another 512 megs of RAM to stick into it when I get it home. That will help.

This system came preloaded with PCLinux…not too familiar with that distro, but it’s KDE and I don’t think it will make it through the night. I was afraid that I’d have to change the name of the blog to “Life With Ubuntu on a D600” until I found this little gem. I’m so excited I can hardly contain myself…..

Dale

4 Responses to “My New T40!”

  1. K.Mandla said

    The public demands pictures! 😀 (And not just stock photos, either. 😉 )

  2. Brian said

    All hail the T40. I am looking to max this one out and get a backup or two!

  3. Brian said

    There is a great Thinkpad community @ forum.thinkpads.com

  4. Competitive Reverse Osmosis Drinking Water Filtration System

    Competitive Reverse Osmosis Drinking Water Filtration System
    Competitive Reverse Osmosis Drinking Water Filtration SystemWhat peace of mind to know that the Biostone water filter – part of every Jupiter water ionizer – represents the state of the art i…

Leave a Reply

 
